Garth Brooks Discography

Studio albums

Compilations, live albums, box-sets

  • 1994: The Garth Brooks Collection
  • 1994: The Hits
  • 1998: Double Live
  • 1998: The Limited Series
  • 2005: The Limited Series
  • 2005: The Lost Sessions
  • 2007: The Ultimate Hits
  • 2013: Blame It All on My Roots: Five Decades of Influences

Garth Brooks is known to break records with his album sales throughout the 1990s, known as the Soundscan era. Since 1989, Brooks has released 10 studio albums, 3 compilation albums, 3 Christmas albums, 1 live album and 77 singles along with 3 box sets. Out of the 10 studio albums he has released so far, 6 of them have achieved diamond status in the US, according to the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America), those being Garth Brooks, No Fences, Ropin the Wind, The Hits, Sevens and Double Live.

Brook’s first album released in 1989 and was named after him. The album was traditionally country and reached No. 2 position in the US Country Album Chart and No. 13 on the Billboard 200 pop album chart. His first single ‘Much too Young to feel this damn Old’ featured in the list of Top 10 Country songs. His song ‘If tomorrow never comes’ and ‘The Dance’ reached the top position while ‘Not Counting You’ finished at No.2. His follow up album ‘No Fences’ released in 1990 and remained at No. 1 position on the Billboard Country Music Chart for 23 weeks. It eventually became Brook’s highest selling album and shipped 17 million copies in the country. This album contains Brook’s signature song ‘Friends in Low Places’ as well as the songs ‘The Thunder Rolls’ and ‘Unanswered Prayers’ , all of which reached the No.1 position on the country chart. Brook’s third album, Ropin the Wind released in 1991. It had an advanced order of 4 million copies and debuted at the pop album charts directly at No.1. The success of this album further encourages the sales of his first two albums, making Brooks the first country artist whose all 3 albums were listed in the pop top 20 in a week. ‘In Pieces’ released in 1993 and sold 10 million copies worldwide. His songs began to feature in the UK Music charts as he earned a growing fan base there. In 1995, Brooks released ‘Fresh Horses’ which sold over 3 million copies within 6 months of it’s release. A single from this album, ‘The Beaches of Cheyenne’ again hit No.1 at the charts. Brook’s 7th Studio album, Sevens, was released in 1997 and again debuted at No.1 at Billboard 200 as well as Top Country Albums. This album became Brook’s 4th album to cross sale of 10 million copies. The first single of this album ‘Longneck bottle’ finished at No.1.

In 1999, Brooks assumed the identity of Chris Gaines and extensively promoted his album ‘Garth Brooks in…The Life of Chris Gaines’ which did not receive a response as exemplary as his other albums. He released ‘Scarecrow’ in 2001 which again debuted at No.1 at the Billboard 200 and Top Country Albums Chart. This was Brooks’ last album before a thirteen years hiatus.

Double Live, Brook’s first live album released in 1998 and contained a medley of songs recorded at various shows during Brooks’ 1998 World Tour. His other compilations include The Garth Brooks Collection and The Hits, released in 1994, The Limited Series’, released in 1998 and 2005, The Ultimate Hits in 2007 and Blame it on My Roots: Five Decades of Influences in 2013.

As of October 2014, Garth Brooks is the second best selling so artist in the US history after Elvis Presley. Presley’s total sales are at 134.5 million while Brooks’ is at 134 million. His total album sales have reached 69,544,000 copies which makes him the best-selling album artist in the United States ahead of Beatles who is at 65,730,000.